Advocacy

YWCA is on a MissionSocial action and advocacy are the cornerstones of YWCA. We conduct local advocacy efforts with the help of YWCA Board Members’ Advocacy Committee and other organizations to advance racial justice and women’s empowerment and we offer educational opportunities about pressing issues impacting our community.
Our goal is to ensure that Boulder County is a safer, more equitable and welcoming place for all women, families and anyone who experiences discrimination.  In partnership with YWCA USA, we advocate for policy and legislation that positively impacts racial justice and the economic advancement, health and safety of women and girls.  We work to amplify unheard and underrepresented voices and mobilize people to create meaningful and lasting change in Boulder County and beyond.
YWCA Boulder County is dedicated to eliminating racism, empowering women and promoting peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all.
YWCA Boulder County Mission Statement

COVID-19 Economic Impacts on Women

Our Advocacy team is currently presenting a series of panel discussions with local and national experts exploring the pandemic’s economic impacts on women, particularly women of color.  Sign up for our newsletter to hear about upcoming sessions!

Videos of previous sessions are available on our YouTube channel:

Closing the Inequity Gap for Women in the Workplace

Advocacy in the Time of the “Shecession”

Stay Updated on the Latest YWCA USA Advocacy Campaigns

We need your voice to advance our mission and advocate for policies that bring us closer to eliminating racism, empowering women, and ensuring peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all.

Take Action With YWCA
It's Our Time Now! YWCA 2021 Advocacy Priorities

YWCA USA Advocacy Agenda 2021-2022

Advocacy Contacts

You can email all seven board members (and also the superintendent and the board secretary) by emailing bvs.board@bvsd.org.

Or you can email them individually at:

Tina Marquis, Board of Education President, District B, Term Expires: 2021

tina.marquis@bvsd.org

Kathy Gebhardt, Board of Education Vice-President, District C, Term Expires: 2023
kathy.gebhardt@bvsd@org

Lisa Sweeney-Miran, Board of Education Member, District A, Term Expires: 2023
lisa.sweeney-miran@bvsd.org

Stacey Zis, Board of Education Member, District D, Term Expires: 2023
stacey.zis@bvsd.org

Donna Miers, Board of Education Member, District E, Term Expires: 2021
donna.miers@bvsd.org

Kitty Sargent, Board of Education Treasurer, District F, Term Expires: 2021
kitty.sargent@bvsd.org

Richard Garcia, Board of Education Member, District G, Term Expires: 2023
BVSD Board of Education website:

Find My Legislator

State Senator Tammy Story – Senate District 16
303-866-4873
tammy.story.senate@state.co.us
website

State Senator Sonya Jaquez Lewis – Senate District 17
303-866-5291
sonya.jaquez.lewis.senate@state.co.us
website

State Senator Stephen Fenberg – Senate District 18 and Majority Leader
303-866-4872
stephen.fenberg.senate@state.co.us
website

Representative Edie Hooton – House District 10
303-866-2915
edie.hooton.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Karen McCormick – House District 11
303-866-2780
karen.mccormick.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Tracey Bernett – House District 12
303-866-2920
tracey.bernett.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Judy Amabile – House District 13
303-866-2578
judy.amabile.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Matt Gray – House District 33
303-866-4667
matt@matthewgray.us
website

Boulder County Commissioners
Contact Form

Commissioner Claire Levy – District 1
Term Ends: 2025

Commissioner Marta Loachamin – District 2
Term Ends: 2025

Commissioner Matt Jones – District 3
Term Ends: 2022

Senator John Hickenlooper
website

Senator Michael Bennet
website

Congressman Joe Neguse, Congressional District 2
website

Congressman Ken Buck, Congressional District 4
website