Advocacy

We Need Your Support!

Sign up to receive YWCA Advocacy Action Alerts and stay up to date. Together, we can make an impact!

Megaphone icon representing YWCA Advocacy

YWCA Boulder County Advocacy

Get Involved and Advocate for Women, Girls and People of Color

At YWCA Boulder County, we advocate for women and girls by educating and developing relationships with policy makers, community leaders and community members. We work to create legislative, policy and systems change to break down barriers for the advancement and economic sustainability of self-identifying women, girls, and people of color.

Banner photo by ChrisGoodwin/desrowVISUALS


National Bills to Watch

Visit the YWCA USA Advocacy Agenda page to learn more about our current priorities for Congress.

How to TAKE ACTION

Interested in how YOU can TAKE ACTION and make positive change in our community? Here are some ideas:

Your Local Representatives

You can email all seven board members (and also the superintendent and the board secretary) by emailing bvs.board@bvsd.org.

Or you can email them individually at:

Kathy Gebhardt, Board of Education President, District C, Term Expires: 2023
kathy.gebhardt@bvsd@org

Lisa Sweeney-Miran, Board of Education Vice President, District A, Term Expires: 2023
lisa.sweeney-miran@bvsd.org

Nicole Rajpal, Board of Education Treasurer, District B, Term Expires: 2025
nicole.rajpal@bvsd.org

Stacey Zis, Board of Education Member, District D, Term Expires: 2023
stacey.zis@bvsd.org

Beth Niznik, Board of Education Member, District E, Term Expires: 2025
beth.niznik@bvsd.org

Kitty Sargent, Board of Education Treasurer, District F, Term Expires: 2025
kitty.sargent@bvsd.org

Richard Garcia, Board of Education Member, District G, Term Expires: 2023
BVSD Board of Education website:

SVVSD Board of Education Contact Form:
https://www.svvsd.org/about/board-of-education/board-of-education-contact-form/

Joie Siegrist, Board of Education President, District A, Term Expires: 2023
303-517-9836
siegrist_joie@svvsd.org

Karen Ragland, Board of Education Vice President and Assistant Secretary, District B, Term Expires: 2025
203-216-1234
ragland_karen@svvsd.org

Jim Berthold, Board of Education Secretary, District C, Term Expires: 2023
720-771-0605
berthold_james@svvsd.org

Richard Martyr, Board of Education Treasurer, District E, Term Expires: 2023
303-808-1433
martyr_richard@svvsd.org

Meosha Brooks, Board of Education Member, District D, Term Expires: 2025
832-971-8062
brooks_meosha@svvsd.org

Chico Garcia, Board of Education Member, District G, Term Expires: 2023
303-552-4173
garcia_chico@svvsd.org

Sarah Hurianek, Board of Education Member, District F, Term Expires: 2025
303-217-1011
hurianek_sarah@svvsd.org

Boulder County Commissioners
Contact Form

Commissioner Claire Levy – District 1
Term Ends: 2025

Commissioner Marta Loachamin – District 2
Term Ends: 2025

Commissioner Matt Jones – District 3
Term Ends: 2022

Find My Legislator

State Senator Tammy Story – Senate District 16
303-866-4873
tammy.story.senate@state.co.us
website

State Senator Sonya Jaquez Lewis – Senate District 17
303-866-5291
sonya.jaquez.lewis.senate@state.co.us
website

State Senator Stephen Fenberg – Senate District 18 and Majority Leader
303-866-4872
stephen.fenberg.senate@state.co.us
website

Representative Edie Hooton – House District 10
303-866-2915
edie.hooton.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Karen McCormick – House District 11
303-866-2780
karen.mccormick.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Tracey Bernett – House District 12
303-866-2920
tracey.bernett.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Judy Amabile – House District 13
303-866-2578
judy.amabile.house@state.co.us
website

Representative Matt Gray – House District 33
303-866-4667
matt@matthewgray.us
website

Senator John Hickenlooper
website

Senator Michael Bennet
website

Congressman Joe Neguse, Congressional District 2
website

Congressman Ken Buck, Congressional District 4
website